Tags

, , , ,

My first post here at WordPress was about spinning a gradient yarn.  At that point I was still working on the second singles.  Since then I have finished the spinning and plying, the yarn has been skeined and washed and is now dry ready to use.  This has been a really fun project. The braid was 4 ounces (113 grams) and I ended up with 726.6 yards (664.4 meters), a nice lace weight.

Here are some photos taken along the way.

Grapes of Wrath

This was taken part way through the skeining, when there is just pink and purple.

Grapes of Wrath

Grapes of Wrath

Now with the black.

Grapes of Wrath

Grapes of Wrath

Closer view of the yarn, still on the niddy noddy.

Grapes of Wrath

And here’s the skein after being taken off the niddy noddy.  I used crochet cotton to tie the skein, as this is for personal use not to be presented for any sort of judging at a show where self ties would give a nicer presentation.

Grapes of Wrath

And a closer view of the yarn.  The barber poling of colors help the transition from one color to another.

Grapes of Wrath

The dime is to give perspective.

Grapes of Wrath

And here’s the skein.  I’m really pleased with how this turned out.  I don’t yet have a knitting project decided for this, but I’m thinking some sort of lace shawl.  The challenge will be finding a pattern that will let me knit until I run out of yarn.  I definitely want to use all of this in one project.

