Tags

, , , , ,

Haven’t posted in a while.  What with one thing and another I’ve just not gotten around to posting.

I’ve not been getting as many projects done, and the ones I have worked on have tended to be intermittent, and thus slow moving.  However, I have made some good progress since the Wintersweet.  A pair of DK weight socks,

Here is an in-progress photo of the Viola socks.  Apparently I didn’t get any of them completed.  I do like them very much, though.  They are knee socks, stockinette up to just over the calf, then a fun and very springy ribbing for about 4 inches.  They are plenty long, the ribbing works perfectly and I was able to knit basically until I ran out of yarn.  These are knit using the Fish Lips Kiss instructions, which is fantastic.  The author, aka SoxTherapist on Ravelry, also has a YouTube channel with videos showing how to do what she calls Twin Stitch/Twin Purl, a great way to do short rows without wrapping.  I highly recommend this pattern.  She has put a lot of effort and thought into it, and it only costs $1 US!  Very well worth it, and it works either cuff to toe, or toe to cuff.

P_20141231_151853_1

In April a friend inspired me to make a crochet poncho.  For years I’ve said I can barely manage a crochet hook, other than to pick up and fix dropped knitted stitches so this was a bit of a learning experience.  The pattern is very simple, all HDC (half double crochet) with a SC (single crochet) edging.  I don’t have a photo if it being worn, but this shows the fabric:

Caribbean Poncho

Caribbean Poncho

For the last year or so I’ve found that I enjoy having 2 sock projects going at the same time.  One pair in regular finger weight sock yarn, the other in DK weight sock yarn.  My eyes have never been terribly good, and as I’m no longer a spring chicken I have the challenges of needing bifocals.  The smaller grist yarns can be more of a challenge for me now, especially late in the day when my eyes are tired or dry and itchy from allergies.  So I use the DK socks as my walking around knitting, usually when I’m walking my dogs.  And the fingering socks, or shawls, tend to be my commute knitting.

These are my current fingering socks:

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse Fish Lips Kiss Heel Socks

They are made of Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse yarn, which I’m quite enjoying.  The spiraling colors and the zigzag I find quite fun to knit, and these are colors I love seeing.

My current DK sock project is this:

DSC02161

I love this vibrant color and was happily surprised to see that the subtle shading did result in some pooling.

The fingering socks will be probably about crew length.  The turquoise DK ones will be long, knee socks.  I mostly prefer my hand knit socks to be knee length, thus now days I nearly always buy 2 balls of any sock yarn.  However, sometimes there aren’t 2, or the yarn is a one of a kind (OOAK), and in those cases I end up making more regular length socks.  The Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse is very nicely done, as it is 2 strands wound and dyed together, so to ball before using you have to take it off and make 2 balls.  Instead of bothering with a ball winder I just made 2 hand wound balls, which is working perfectly.  But this means that I know that I have the same length of yarn for each sock, and as I’m knitting toe up, I’ll be able to knit until I run out of yarn.

In addition to these projects I’ve also been very slowly working on a spinning project.  Finally finished it and immediately started another.  But that is a topic for another post!

