Tags

, , , , , ,

In my last, now long ago, post I had a photo of a pair of fingering socks I was working on using Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse yarn.  I picked this yarn up on sale in part because I liked the colors and in part because it looked new and interesting.  It comes the paired yarn in a disk, wound around a core, sandwiched between 2 pieces of stiff paper/thin cardboard.  The yarn information is printed on those pieces of cardboard.

DSC02159

DSC02160

I forgot to get a photo of the spool as it came.  Here is a photo from the Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse page on their web site.  The core and outside paper have been removed so you can see the color all the way through.  Note there are 4 colors.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse

The yarn on the spool is wound with 2 strands together.  So each strand is dyed the same, to make matching socks. There is enough yarn to make a pair of crew or low crew length socks for my medium sized woman feet (Women’s 8.5 Wide or Men’s 7.5 Wide shoes).  So about the ‘usual’ length one gets for a ball of sock yarn.

The instructions said to mount the spool in a way that the yarn may be unwound in order to wind each strand of yarn into its own ball.  I took a pencil and a string, put the pencil through the spool, tied the string to each end of the pencil and hung it over a chair back.  Then I sat on the floor while my DH had a movie on and I would pull off some of the paired yarn, then wind each strand into its own ball.  Pull, wind one, wind two.  Repeat till all the paired yarn has been separated into 2 balls.

DSC02155

As per my preference I started these socks from the toe, knitting up the foot to the cuff.  Because of the way the yarn would pool I was very careful to start the same point in the yarn on each sock.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse FLK socks

The knitting was fun as it was a bit of an adventure to see what color would come next, what the yarn would do.  Part way up the foot the colors started to behave differently in how they swirled.  At first I was confused, but then realized that the swirls were changing direction as well as width and vibrancy!  That was really fun.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse Fish Lips Kiss Heel Socks

The spirals narrowed back down, which worked very well for the heel I prefer (Fish Lips Kiss Heel) not significantly changing how the spirals behaved.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse Socks

Going up the leg the spirals again changed width and vibrancy.  I just loved how each stitch, each round, was different.  Not in the knitting, this was all stocking stitch, but in the mystery of what color would come next.  The color repeats are short, only a few stitches each, most places, so it was always fun to see what came next.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse Yarn

In order to get as much length as possible I did most of the leg in stockinette, then changed to my favorite ribbing for the last few inches.  I think another time I would do more of the leg in the ribbing, but I’m not sure, as my preferred ribbing is a slip stitch ribbing, which disrupts the pooling.

Schoppel-Wolle Fliegende Untertasse

I expect I will keep an eye out for more of this yarn.  It is really fun to knit, I love these colors and love how the color changes keep things interesting in an otherwise very plain, simple project.

