Tags

, , , , , , ,

Recently I’ve been doing more supported spinning.  I have wanted to improve some of my yarn management skills, in particular the figure-8 butterfly to help manage lengths of yarn while winding onto the cop.  So I decided to do some supported spinning while commuting to work.  I first started with a spindle I got from Stringtopia, a studio in Lebanon, Ohio that is no longer, unfortunately, in business.  The spindle is from Peru and is a traditional type of spindle from that region.  It can be used as a suspended or supported spindle.  Since I was in the enclosed space of a car, I decided to use it as a supported spindle.

3/4 Targhee spinning project

The wool I’ve been spinning is 3/4 Targhee that I’ve had for many years.  It is quite soft and bouncy, and I think it will make a nice light yarn.  The bowl is one I got recently at a fiber festival in Athens, Ohio.   It is walnut and is very pretty.

After I was reasonably far along in the initial spinning I found another, smaller and lighter spindle also from Peru, which I then continued to spin on.  I decided not long after to wind the first cop off into a ball, which I did, around a penny.

Spinning 3/4 Targhee

I’ve been quite happy with my progress with this very functional spindle, but decided that a fancier, modern style spindle might be fun to have as well, so I found one on Etsy by Silly Salmon Designs.  It arrived today and I was able to spend some time spinning on it.  It spins beautifully, very well balanced, and I was quickly able to spin up some lovely yarn.  Here are some photos of the spindle with credentials.

Silly Salmon Designs Tibetan Support Spindle in Pennsylvania Walnut & Birdseye Maple

Silly Salmon Designs Tibetan Support Spindle in Pennsylvania Walnut & Birdseye Maple

Silly Salmon Designs Tibetan Support Spindle in Pennsylvania Walnut & Birdseye Maple

Silly Salmon Designs Tibetan Support Spindle in Pennsylvania Walnut & Birdseye Maple

Since this spindle has a stainless steel tip I’ve been spinning with it in a small ceramic bowl rather than in the wooden bowl.

It’s been fun seeing how much yarn I’ve been spinning in relatively short spurts.

